Monday, August 16, 2010

men who are afraid to pick up the phone

It's a problem when men refuse to call you. Asking someone out over email, texting, fax, or carrier pigeon (actually, those last two are sort of unique--I wouldn't rule them out) is sort of inappropriate. Before the advent of texting, what did people have to do? CALL THE GIRL. How did everyone before 2008 deal with dating? Logically! At least by normal standards. What guy really thinks someone is going to answer a "date me" text message from a stranger? It's cute (but aggravating--mostly aggravating) if someone you're dating wants to communicate with you by text messaging all the time when you don't have a text message plan, and he knows it's costing you money, but then offers to give you a dollar. At least you know the person and said person's annoying habits. But being aggravated with someone before you're even really going out... is just aggravating. Are you supposed to reject them via text message? Can I send an IM: "No sorry dude found other date who made phone contact. Hate texting btw c u l8"? A text message? REALLY? I'm still in shock over it. Is this guy in 8th grade? Do I break up with him on a post it?

Thursday, August 05, 2010

the week of calling ex's

Because apparently I like to suffer a lot. Because I like walking around in the graveyard of the ghosts from the past. Because there's not enough happening so I need to stir shit up to feel like I'm still breathing. Tequila wasn't enough Wednesday, I had to complicate my life some more, keep myself up till 5am, and accomplish nothing. What part of "don't call, don't text, don't contact me anymore" isn't clear? Emailing counts as contacting. Stop thinking about me! It makes me think about you in return, which is what I don't want to be doing!!

Boys are so aggravating.
You break up with them for a reason.
Then you attack the next innocent victim and the process can start anew. Oh, when will I learn?

Tuesday, August 03, 2010

38 and a waiter

So, even if you can make tons of money on tips working on your feet in some fancy place, one would hope you have more aspirations in life than waiting tables when you're almost 40. When I think about turning 30, turning 40, I'd like to have something to *show* for my life's struggle, you know? Because when you're hitting on a girl in a bar and the things you reveal are: my parents are dead, my brother is dead, I have no one, and I'm a waiter at 38, you start to wonder that there are reasons he's still single. Meanwhile, with women being single it's never as straightforward. While there are plenty of single women in this city, for one reason or another, who are still out there, the general consensus on single men over 30 seems to be "they're freaks." Saddening fact.

Really, how anyone finds anyone to love is a mystery to me.
I have also realized that there are perhaps many more women in general here than men. So it follows that the single men aren't in a relationship for various reasons, probably pertaining to their sanity.
At least L isn't announcing she's getting married any time soon and leaving me to my singlehood...