Sunday, November 04, 2007

hey baby, let's DTR.

Things started to pick up recently, ever since I started going dancing regularly. (Yes, I may soon become one of the "regulars" who frequent a few of the popular SF bay swing clubs. And I said 'swing' mind you, not 'swinger'!)

I've been dating!! How exciting. It's been like the Sahara since one summer indiscretion flew the co-op. (Literally. I bet he has communal sex every night now, and I'm glad I'm not part of it. You're not supposed to have ED when you're 21, that's just wrong/unfair to the woman!!)

Anyway, of course, with the dating come the horror stories. I was living vicariously thought my roommate's horror stories for awhile which run the gamut from asshole #1 lurking in and around her life and torturing her for no reason, and a few failed forays into internet dating, the most recent seemingly promising (and very good looking...). Only time will tell, I suppose.

I've been trying to enjoy myself. So far that philosophy has served me well. In the past two weeks, I've been out with maybe 5 different guys on separate occasions. One fell in love with me and then said something along the lines of "you know that one night we cuddled? You're LUCKY I didn't have sex with you, you got away easy!" OMG WHAT? WTF DID YOU JUST SAY TO ME? Sheesh. Tact has not gone out of style, people. You don't TELL that to the woman you want to bed down with. Just like that crazy guy I watched The Secret of NIMH with, who tried to flatter himself "I've slept with 12 chicks in the last month, wanna be 13?" Uh, NO!

So that cooled the passion pretty quickly. I was starting to see myself with him long term. Hmm. Not.

We have a cute friend in common. I like his cute friend. Needless to say, it's making things a little awkward on pub quiz night... I sort of feel like I'm in the middle of two men fighting to conquer one woman. Only the cute guy is a little too cool to fight and cause a scene, which I sort of like...

We went grocery shopping yesterday. And you know what the say, that you can tell a lot about a man by his groceries. I do think it's sort of an intimate everyday thing, though. I liked it. I also got in my grocery shopping for the month :)

Last night I went out with a drummer in a band. He is too cool for school, yo. I think we'd be ok friends: basically the only thing we have in common is indie music. He chain smokes, is a bisexual in an open relationship, a Sag... red flags! But he looks like Brendan Fehr. He has those squinty eyes. Shame the beard kills the sparkly eyed effect for me. Ah well. He also ditched me for half an hour to smoke a cigarette and I suspect he was trying to get in someone else's pants. Apparently he knew about 10% of the people at the venue, from the lighting guy to the people behind a truck drinking 40s. CLASSY.

I'm a classy sort of girl. I like to get down to business. I'd like to Determine The Relationship. Basically, I want grocery boy. That's what it comes down to right now. I might be making a horrible mistake, as tactless as bachelor #1 is, and as pure his love, my thought right now has domestic groceries, up against the open fridge door written all over it...